Skip to main content

CARE Fellowship

CARE Fellowship

The Care Fellowship, Canada's only Fellowship devoted to "Contraception and Family Planning" is a unique opportunity for a graduate Ob/Gyn to spend one year in an advanced training program leading to special competence in Contraceptive Advice, Research, and Education (CARE).

Successful applicants will participate in an active program of clinical activity and research, to further their knowledge and skills in the management of complex contraceptive problems, and develop innovative educational programs to promote effective and safe utilization of contraceptives available in Canada.

Fellows regularly participate in Pediatric and Adolescent Gynaecology Clinics and a Multidisciplinary Teen Ob clinic, which allows the opportunity to gain expertise in working with adolescents and young adults.

Fellows have the option to participate in a multidisciplinary Transgender Health clinic during the Fellowship.

Research activities will be developed in the area of interest of the specific applicant and will be supervised by members of the division of Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility. 

Clinical activities will involve participation and ultimately supervision, at a junior faculty level, of: 
•    Special clinics for challenging contraceptive cases. 
•    Clinics dealing with management of contraceptive failure and /or STIs. 
•    ORs for provision of surgical sterilization and other contraception-related procedures 
•    Teaching rounds and visiting professorships in this area. 

The fellow will develop expertise as an effective communicator about contraceptive issues through participation in CHE and public forums on contraception and reproductive health. Competitive salary, benefits, and travel allowance provided. 

Fellows participate in the general Ob/Gyn call schedule as attending staff, which helps to maintain general skills in Ob/Gyn and develop confidence as an academic attending physician.



Ashley Waddington, MD, MPA
Division of General Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Division of Reproductive Endocrinology & Infertility


CARE Fellows

Laura Nicholls-Dempsey (2023)
Yang Wang (2021-2022)
Melinda-Sue Rodowa (2020-2021)
Megan Schneiderman (2019-2020)
Sophie Bussiere-Cote (2018-2019)
Milena Garofalo (2018)
Marie-Eve Murray (2017-2018)
Julie Thorne (2016-2017)
Stephanie Black (2016)
Audrey Binette (2015-2016)
Carrie Ferguson (2014-2015)
Dustin Costescu-Green (2012-2013)
Ashley Waddington (2011-2013)
Melissa Mirosh (2005-2007)
Jenna McNaught (2004-2005)
Stéphanie Palerme (2003-2004)
Amanda Black (2001-2002)
Sari Kives (2000-2001)